WLPGA names 2020 Woman of the Year winners

December 15, 2020 By    

Women in LPG (WINLPG), a global network founded by the World LPG Association (WLPGA), recognized the winners of its Woman of the Year, Young Woman of the Year and Outstanding Achievement awards.

Zhanar Gilimova, LPG commercial manager at Tengizchevroil in Kazakhstan, won the Woman of the Year Award 2020.

“Becoming Woman of the Year 2020 was a very pleasant surprise to me,” Gilimova says. “I proudly share this recognition with my team of highly dedicated professionals and hope that it will inspire many others to perform, deliver and be accountable for ambitious decisions. However, one can only do that with a strong, trustful and diverse team, which I’m proud to have.”

The Young Woman of the Year Award 2020 goes to Marcela Rosado Orellana, senior business development analyst of Ultragaz, Brazil.

“This award means a lot to me for being only 25 years old and representing young people and women who promote changes in our sector,” Orellano says. “The LPG industry is reinventing itself, and I believe there is space for everyone, especially for women.”

This year, WINLPG also honored Natalie Peal, owner and publisher of Butane-Propane News, with an exceptional Outstanding Achievement Award.

“I am honored beyond words to have been chosen to receive WINLPG’s inaugural Outstanding Achievement Award,” Peal says. “Propane and this industry’s special people have always been a part of my life. Over the years, I hope I have helped women feel more comfortable in this male-dominated industry.”

Woman of the Year 2020 runner-up is Christina Armentano, executive vice president of Paraco Gas. Runner-up for Young Woman of the Year is Mourad Amani Faycal, domestic gas distributor of Société Coopérative des Femmes in Cameroon.

WINLPG has more than 2,000 members and six active national chapters in the U.S., Nigeria, South Africa, Myanmar, India and Colombia.

Featured image: arthobbit/iStock/Getty Images

About the Author:

Carly Bemer (McFadden) was the managing editor at LP Gas magazine.

Comments are currently closed.