Dennis the Master

August 1, 2004 By    

Fighting off a series of double bogeys, defending champ and AmeriGas Propane
sales rep Dennis Kendall of Cincinnati fought from behind to win his fourth
Propane Golfers Association title at The Westin Innisbrook Resort in June with
a six-over-par score of 222.

His winning total at the 6,166-yard Island and6,180-yard Copperhead courses
was nine strokes better than newcomer and runner-up Joel Garrett of Hawkinsville,

On opening day of the 54-hole medal-handicap competition, Kendall recording
four double bogeys, fell three strokes behind Propane Resources executive Marty
Lerum (Lee’s Summit, Missouri), who posted a 36-38-74 on the par 72 Island course
to lead the 72-player field. But, the following day, playing the par 71-Copperhead
course, Kendall took charge of things, carding a 34-37-71 as Lerum skied to
a 47-39-86 score. It was all the edge Kendall needed, although it wasn’t easy.

On the final day, playing the Island once again, Kendall stumbled briefly,
scoring 41 on the opening nine but knocking in birdies on five of the last nine
holes (par 36) for a 33 and a closing 74 score to capture the ECCI/RegO trophy.

“Frankly, I played kind of ugly,” he said. “A triple-bogey and
a double-bogey on the front nine of the Island, on the last day, got my attention.
At the turn, after making that double bogey on No. 9, I settled down and concentrated
on every shot. Several years ago, when I blew a lead on the final day in the
tournament, I found out that you can’t let up in this tournament. It worked.”

Other tournaments winner included handicap champ Rick LaDue, Rochester Gauges,
Dallas; Trinity Industry long drive champ Kirk Bailey, G&B Energy, Boone,
N.C.; H&H Sales senior ID champ Jim Truck, Econo-Ga, Spring, Texas; Cavagna
North America putting champ Rod O’Barr, DuFour Petroleum, Trussville, Alabama;
and the Corken/ Grabe Szekely team champs were Johnny and Nancy Williamson of
Four Point LP-Gas, Woodbury, Ga.

Officials also announced that the 2005 and 2006 Propane Golfers Association
tournaments would be held at The Westin Innisbrook Resort again, June 11-17
and June12-19, respectively.

Final Flight Standings

Dennis Kendall, Amerigas Propane 222
Joel Garrett, Garrett Gas 231
Bruce Bozeman, Georgia LP Gas 236
Johnny Williamson, Four Point LP Gas 239
Marty Lerum, Propane Resources 240
Doug Mayer, Blossman Gas 241
Jim Bishop, Bishop Energy 242
Mariano Aguillar, Rochester Gauges 244
First Flight
Emmett Harris, Economy Gas 244
Dennis Kendall, Sr., Amerigas Propane 249
Kevin Salley, Salley’s Propane 250
Ted McMichael, Mark Heard Fuel 251
Muggs Athey, Martin Gas Sales 253
Ken McLeod, BP America 255
Jim Salley, Salley’s Propane 260
David Reynold’s, Blossman Gas 270
Second Flight
Jim Truck, Economy Gas 256
Clyde Hall, Hall Oil & Propane 259
Kirk Bailey, G & B Energy 260
Jeff Kiser, Neptune/Actaris 261
Ray Strube, Strube Propane 261
Tom Tharpe, ExxonMobil 262
Bill Burkardt, Burkardt’s L.P. Gas 269
Harry Lyons, LPG Insurance 273
Third Flight
Harvey Vesty, National Energy Equipment 272
David Miller, Sams LP-Gas 273
Walt Wehoff, Wehoff Forms 274
Andrew Howley, Propane Golfers Assn. 277
Harold Fletcher, Gardner-Marsh Equipment 277
Rod O’Barr, DuFour Petroleum 278
Rhett Lyons, LPG Insurance 278
Gary Whitmore, PSI 283
Fourth Flight
Dan Grimm, Grimm Propane 272
Phil Farris, Harper Industries 278
Randall Sams, Sams LP-Gas 280
Steve Martaus, LP-Gas Magazine 283
Norm Drewlo, National Energy Equipment 284
John Geiger, Trinity Industries 284
Ed Cackowsky, Neptune/Actaris 291
Dennis East, ELT Industries 298
Fifth Flight
Joe Havens, Economy Gas 285
George Clemmons, Cavagna N.A. 286
James Havens, Economy Gas 288
Sean Carr, LPGas Magazine 289
Brian Kanaba, LPGas Magazine 294
John Edden, Cavagna N.A. 296
Ross Sorrentino, Liquid Controls 302
Dale Gardner, Gardner-Marsh Equipment 306
Sixth Flight
Jonathan Mayer, Blossman Gas 292
Steve Krutsinger, Krutsinger Services 293
Nancy Williamson, Four Point LP-Gas 293
Paul Harris, Gardner-Marsh Equipment 299
Scott Weatherford, Blossman Gas 299
Rick LaDue, Rochester Gauges 303
Bob Kostick, Wehoff Forms 311
Zane Chastain, Propane Golfers Assn. 314
Seventh Flight
Bob Mayer, Blossman Gas 304
Larry Welch, Economy Gas 310
Sam Heard, Mark Heard Fuel 312
Johnny Patrick, Rutherford Equipment 313
Dianne Bozeman, Georgia LP-Gas 314
Chandler Ball, Oilmen’s Truck Tanks 323
Tom Webber, Oilmen’s Truck Tanks 327
Ron Moore, Southern LP-Gas 340
Eighth Flight
Dan Gurley, Harper Industries 296
Rick Pyle, Corken 318
Russ Riding, Gas Equipment Company 322
Brian Davidson, ECII/RegO Products 338
Butch Mayer, Blossman Gas 354
Russ Bartels, AmeriGas Propane WD
Pat Hyland, LPGas Magazine WD
Jeff TenBrook, TenBrook Sales WD


This article is tagged with , and posted in Events

Comments are currently closed.