CHS elects board members, passes amendments to bylaws

January 11, 2024 By    
Elected to the CHS Board of Directors at the 2023 CHS Annual Meeting were, from left, C.J. Blew, Cortney Wagner, Tony Rossman, Jon Erickson, Scott Cordes, Dan Schurr and Tracy Jones. (Photo courtesy of CHS Inc.)

Elected to the CHS board of directors at the 2023 CHS annual meeting were, from left, C.J. Blew, Cortney Wagner, Tony Rossman, Jon Erickson, Scott Cordes, Dan Schurr and Tracy Jones. (Photo courtesy of CHS Inc.)

CHS Inc. owners elected seven board members to three-year terms during the cooperative’s 2023 annual meeting.

Reelected to three-year terms are:

  • Scott Cordes, who raises corn and soybeans with his family near Wanamingo, Minnesota, representing Region 1 (Minnesota).
  • Cortney Wagner, a first-generation cattle and hay producer based near Hardin, Montana, representing Region 2 (Montana and Wyoming).
  • Jon Erickson, who raises small grains and oilseeds and has a cow-calf operation with his family near Minot, North Dakota, representing Region 3 (North Dakota).
  • Tracy Jones, who raises corn, soybeans, wheat and cattle with his family near Kirkland, Illinois, representing Region 5 (Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia and Wisconsin).
  • Dan Schurr, who raises corn and soybeans with his family near LeClaire, Iowa, representing Region 7 (Iowa, Missouri, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee).
  • C.J. Blew, who farms and ranches in a family partnership in south-central Kansas, representing Region 8 (Nebraska, Kansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas).

Anthony Rossman was elected to the CHS board to represent CHS members in Region 1 (Minnesota), succeeding Perry Meyer, who retired. Rossman operates a diversified crop and livestock operation near Rochester, Minnesota, and manages genetic alliances in the beef industry.

The following CHS board members were elected to one-year officer terms:

  • Dan Schurr, reelected chair (LeClaire, Iowa).
  • C.J. Blew, elected first vice chair (Castleton, Kansas).
  • Scott Cordes, elected second vice chair (Wanamingo, Minnesota).
  • Russell Kehl, reelected secretary-treasurer (Quincy, Washington).
  • Al Holm, reelected assistant secretary-treasurer.

Members also approved two amendments to the organization’s bylaws:

  1. The first amendment decreases the number of representative directors in Region 1 from four to three and increases the number in Region 7 from one to two.
  2. The second amendment modifies how dividends are treated when calculating the net income or net loss of an allocation unit from patronage business and provides the board with increased authority to add an additional amount of patronage income, not to exceed 35 percent, to the capital reserve.

CHS Inc. is an agribusiness cooperative owned by farmers, ranchers and cooperatives across the U.S. CHS supplies energy, crop nutrients, seed, crop protection products, grain marketing services, production and agricultural services, animal nutrition products, foods and food ingredients, and risk management services. The company operates petroleum refineries and pipelines and manufactures, markets and distributes Cenex brand refined fuels, lubricants, propane and renewable energy products.

The company ranks 12th in LP Gas’ 2023 Top Propane Retailers ranking for highest gallon sales.

About the Author:

Danielle Pesta is the senior digital media manager for North Coast Media, the parent company of LP Gas. She can be reached at

Comments are currently closed.