CHS owners elect board members during annual meeting

January 15, 2021 By    
CHS Cortney Wagner


CHS owners elected seven board members to three-year terms during the cooperative’s 2020 annual meeting, which was held virtually on Dec. 3 in Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota.

CHS is the nation’s largest cooperative and a leading global agribusiness company owned by farmers, ranchers and cooperatives across the U.S., according to the association.

Newly elected to a three-year term is Cortney Wagner, a Hardin, Montana, resident, who succeeds Edward Malesich. Wagner was elected in Region 2, which represents CHS owners in Montana and Wyoming.

Wagner is a first-generation cattle and hay producer, says CHS. Her family has experience in farming and cooperative management dating back to 1939. She has also served as a trust associate at First National Bank and Trust. She has been appointed to the board’s governance committee and the CHS Foundation Board of Trustees.

Reelected to three-year terms are:

  • C.J. Blew, who operates a farm and ranch business in a family partnership in south central Kansas, representing Region 8.
  • Scott Cordes, who operates a corn and soybean farm near Wanamingo, Minnesota, representing Region 1.
  • Jon Erickson, who raises grains and oilseeds and operates a commercial Hereford-Angus cow-calf business near Minot, North Dakota, representing Region 3.
  • Tracy Jones, who raises corn, soybeans and wheat and feeds cattle near Kirkland, Illinois, representing Region 5.
  • Perry Meyer, who raises corn, soybean and hogs near New Ulm, Minnesota, representing Region 1.
  • Dan Schurr, who raises corn and soybeans near LeClaire, Iowa, and operates a commercial trucking business, representing Region 7.

Following the annual meeting, the board held its annual reorganization meeting. Each of the following board members was elected to one-year officer terms:

  • Dan Schurr, chair.
  • C.J. Blew, first vice chair.
  • Jon Erickson, second vice chair.
  • Russ Kehl, secretary-treasurer.
  • Steve Riegel, assistant secretary-treasurer.
This article is tagged with , , and posted in News

About the Author:

Carly Bemer (McFadden) was the managing editor at LP Gas magazine.

Comments are currently closed.