Propane awareness to build with expansion of congressional caucus

August 31, 2015 By    
latta for blog

Rep. Bob Latta, R-Ohio, center, inquires about a propane autogas filling station during the Bergquist open house in Toledo, Ohio.

Propane retailers made a number of requests of their congressmen as they visited them on Capitol Hill this year during the National Propane Gas Association’s Propane Days festivities.

One of those requests was for them to join the Congressional Propane Caucus, which was established in May. The caucus was formed to engage members of Congress, their staffs and the public on important issues related to the propane industry and propane consumers.

The caucus was described at Propane Days as a group that will meet twice annually – once heading into winter and again following winter’s completion. That group is significantly larger today than the one that was established back in May.

Rep. Bob Latta, R-Ohio, and Rep. Tim Walz, D-Minn., established the caucus with eight other founding members. Since May, though, the caucus has grown to 38 members, according to Madeline Barter, legislative counsel for Latta.

Latta exhibited his engagement in the propane industry recently by attending the Bergquist Inc. open house in Toledo, Ohio. Joe Buschur, owner of McMahan’s Bottle Gas in Dayton, Ohio, attended that open house and met with Latta during Propane Days earlier this summer.

“A lot of people think we’re for gas grills only,” Buschur said following Propane Days. “When your congressman or senator thinks that, that’s probably not a good thing.”

But more congressmen are now in a position to fully engage with the propane industry than arguably ever. Eighteen states are currently represented on the caucus. Both Democrats and Republicans are represented on the caucus, although 26 of the 38 caucus members are Republicans.

Here’s a complete look at the list of caucus members, through Aug. 19:

Rep. Rod Blum, R-Iowa
Rep. Cheri Bustos, D-Ill.
Rep. Chris Collins, R-N.Y.
Rep. Jim Costa, D-Calif.
Rep. Jeff Denham, R-Calif.
Rep. Charles Dent, R-Pa.
Rep. Sean Duffy, R-Wis.
Rep. Elizabeth Esty, D-Conn.
Rep. Robert Goodlatte, R-Va.
Rep. Paul Gosar, R-Ariz.
Rep. Garrett Graves, R-La.
Rep. Glenn Grothman, R-Wis.
Rep. Richard Hudson, R-N.C.
Rep. Bill Huizenga, R-Mich.
Rep. Shelia Jackson Lee, D-Texas
Rep. David Jolly, R-Fla.
Rep. Mike Kelly, R-Pa.
Rep. Ron Kind, D-Wis.
Rep. Steve King, R-Iowa
Rep. Bob Latta, R-Ohio
Rep. Dave Loebsack, D-Iowa
Rep. John Moolenaar, R-Mich.
Rep. Rick Nolan, D-Minn.
Rep. Grace F. Napolitano, D-Calif.
Rep. Scott Perry, R-Pa.
Rep. Colin Peterson, D-Minn.
Rep. Mark Pocan, D-Wis.
Rep. Mike Pompeo, R-Kan.
Rep. Tom Reed, R-N.Y.
Rep. Reid Ribble, R-Wis.
Rep. David Rouzer, R-N.C.
Rep. Tim Ryan, D-Ohio
Rep. Steve Stivers, R-Ohio
Rep. Tim Walberg, R-Mich.
Rep. Tim Walz, R-Minn.
Rep. Peter Welch, D-Vt.
Rep. Roger Williams, R-Texas
Rep. David Young, R-Iowa

About the Author:

Kevin Yanik was a senior editor at LP Gas Magazine.

Comments are currently closed.