NPGA names new officers ahead of Propane Days

May 23, 2016 By    

Stuart Weidie of Blossman Gas is the new chairman of the National Propane Gas Association.

Blossman Gas President and CEO Stuart Weidie heads a new slate of National Propane Gas Association (NPGA) officers who were sworn in to their new positions Monday ahead of Propane Days in Washington, D.C.

Weidie was named chairman of the board of the national association at its annual meeting. He takes over for Charlie Ory of Family Propane.

Jerry Brick of North Star Energy (chairman-elect), Chris Earhart of Dixie Gas & Oil Corp. (vice chairman) and Randy Thompson of ThompsonGas (treasurer) also were named officers for the 2016-17 term.

Weidie cited three objectives for his chairmanship: identifying growth opportunities for propane, creating a favorable business environment for propane utilization and ensuring reliable propane supply for the domestic market.

“We are fortunate to have numerous opportunities to grow our businesses and the industry,” Weidie says. “We have the cleanest fossil fuel known to man.”

Also at the board meeting, NPGA named Joe Buschur of McMahan’s Bottle Gas as the state director of the year for his contributions to the industry at the state and national levels.

Ory honored industry members through chairman citations. They went to Steve Wambold of Ferrellgas, Jim Tims of Quality Steel Corp., Mike Hopsicker of Ray Murray Inc., Mike Pitts of Mississippi Tank Co., Steve Gentry of Worthington Industries and Denis Gagne of Eastern Propane Gas Inc.

The industry heads to Capitol Hill on Tuesday and Wednesday to meet with elected officials.

About the Author:

Brian Richesson is the editor in chief of LP Gas Magazine. Contact him at or 216-706-3748.

Comments are currently closed.